Our Board

Lindsay Biedel – President

Lindsay is an Oregon native who has lived all over the Northwest and settled in Boise in 2013 feeling like she and her husband had finally found the right community to raise their two daughters in.  She graduated from the University of Montana with a BS in Organizational Communications.  She has been a non-profit fundraising and communication specialist for 14 years, working for small and large nonprofit organizations across the Northwest.  Lindsay enjoys traveling, skiing, camping and eating as much interesting food as she can get her hands on.  Lindsay would someday be an “expert backyard gardener,” but is enjoying the trial and error of gardening until that happens.  Lindsay feels strongly that all kids should have access to hands-on outdoor education so they grow up appreciating our natural resources.  She joined the BUGS Board in January 2017.

Acacia VanEps – Secretary

Acacia was born and raised in Boise, Idaho and returned to Boise in 2010 after graduating from New York University. She currently works in the international department for Happy Family Brands, an organic baby food company. Acacia truly enjoys to travel, read, hike, road bike, and work on her photography. She also loves to spend time with her husband, David, and their Newfoundland, Falcor. Acacia joined the BUGS board in 2017 and is excited to educate the community on sustainability and the importance of organic and locally grown food.

Cody Roell – Treasurer

Cody was born and raised in Indiana, moving to Idaho for college in 2012. He recently graduated from Boise State University with a degree in marketing, where he now works as the Visitor Services Manager at Idaho Botanical Garden. He is currently applying to graduate schools to enhance his non-profit leadership and management skills. Cody enjoys watching and refereeing soccer, hiking and camping in the Idaho mountains, as well as trying new food around town. He joined the BUGS board in 2018.

Kathryn Comba Metcalfe – Board Member

Kathryn lives in New Jersey and is the Chief Communications Officer at Aetna, Inc.  She grew up in Boise and has long ties to BUGS and 2995 N Five Mile Rd, its current headquarters.  That’s at Comba Park, originally home of the Comba’s family business A Small World, an innovative childcare center.  Kathryn forged the partnership with Boise Parks & Recreation and BUGS, serving as the driving force behind BUGS’ permanent home for its team and programs.  While Kathryn hardly has a green thumb, she is a philanthropist at heart and is passionate about education and kids.  Kathryn joined the BUGS board in 2017.

Grace Witsil – Board Member 

Grace is a corporate attorney at Holland & Hart LLP, where she represents clients of all sizes in general business matters and a broad range of commercial transactions. A recent transplant to Boise as of 2016, Grace has quickly fallen in love with its outdoorsy, friendly environment.  In her free time, Grace explores with her rescue mutt, hikes and paints.  She always welcomes conversations about sustainable, plant-based community agriculture and diets.  Grace has a B.A. from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and a J.D. from the University of Texas School of Law. She joined the BUGS board in 2017.

Amanda Neill – Board Member

Amanda was raised West Coast (best coast) but has spent most of her life in Idaho, a state she deeply loves and takes full advantage of! Backyard gardening, biking and being outside during all seasons is most important to her and her family. Amanda graduated from Boise State University with a degree in English.  Amanda has two children (4 and 7 years old) that attend a local Montessori school that she is privileged enough to also work at, they to bike to work/school most days. Amanda has spent most of her work life the Montessori education realm but has also coordinated many events for local non-profits and worked for a few years with donors and event planning at the Monterey Bay Aquarium. Most recently she coordinated BUGS 2016 and 2017 Harvest Dinner. It was such a fun process, with a great team of employees, board members and volunteers, that in 2018 she was pleased and excited to join the BUGS Board. In her free time Amanda enjoys cooking, reading, gardening, canning and preserving local food and crafting! She is looking forward to watching BUGS flourish and grow even more in the coming years.

Patrick Hays – Board Member

Patrick Hays is a Boise native who returned to Idaho after graduating with a BS in Supply Chain Management from Western Washington University in 2015. He worked at the university’s foundation helping with fundraising and special events during his four years in Bellingham. Patrick works at the Boise office for Happy Family Brands on the supply chain team. He loves to spend time skiing, backpacking, and exploring the amazing Idaho backcountry. Patrick joined the BUGS board in 2018, and loves helping educate kids about science, nutrition, and environmental responsibility through gardening.

Jennifer Swajkoski – Board Member

Jenny grew up in Boise and graduated from Timberline High School in 2007. Jenny earned her degree in sustainable agriculture from the University of Montana in 2011. As part of her undergraduate, Jenny worked on a student run farm in Missoula, Montana where she learned much more than just how to grow food. She learned the positive impact community farms can have on the community – from providing food security to the most vulnerable members of the community to creating long lasting relationships between diverse members of the community. Jenny then attended law school at the University of Idaho College of Law, where she had the opportunity to research how communities around the world have employed sustainable agriculture and urban farming and how doing so has helped improve local economies as well as quality of life. Jenny enjoys spending time with family and friends, in the backcountry, dancing to live music, going for bike rides, and cooking up food from her garden.